Back to All Events

Hollow Bamboo Dharma Meditation Course


Bring ease, grace, and ecstatic depth

to your sitting meditation practice

Today’s modern culture values thought and mind over sensation and body awareness. Smart phones and computers have become a major part of how people spend their time, replacing time spent with other humans or nature. This shift in how we spend time is causing problems and contributing to disconnection and uncertainty in our lives and relationships. Beyond just screen time, the pace of living in a busy modern world can feed the sense that I’m not good enough, or that I’m not living the life I should be having.

This inner swirl of seeking and emotional churn can be stilled through the practice of meditating with the body. Freedom, peace, inner clarity and spacious awareness are part of your natural inheritance. These can be remembered and reclaimed by listening and honoring the wisdom of your body. Christopher Sunyata will guide you through a seven session course of how to meditate using the Hollow Bamboo teachings of Will Johnson. Instead of being rigid and suffering through sitting practice, let the body be awake and supple, like kelp undulating with the flow of the living sea.

Session One: Alignment and Relaxation

Session Two: Deepening Relaxation

Session Three: Resilient Motion

Session Four: Deepening Resilience

Session Five: Deepening Resilience Further

Session Six: Hollow Bamboo Breathing

Session Seven: The Great Wide Open

Each session will occur through video meetings using Zoom.
Time in each session will be spent primarily in guided practice. There will be time for Q&A by participants after each session.
During the course you will be able to ask questions and receive support from Christopher by email.
For each session, you will need a cushion or chair to sit upon. Position your computer so that you can comfortably see the screen and hear the instructions.
Sessions will be recorded and made available afterwards to participants in the course.


Will Johnson
reading materials for the course
(we will be drawing most from the first two books):

  1. Breathing Through the Whole Body

  2. Eyes Wide Open

  3. The Posture of Meditation

  4. Aligned, Relaxed, Resilient

Video Call Schedule:

6-7:30pm Denver (MST); 8-9:30pm New York; 5-6:30pm Los Angeles;
10-11:30am Sydney, Australia (Friday)

  • Session 1: Thursday, August 15, 6-7:30pm MST

  • Session 2: Thursday, August 22, 6-7:30pm MST

  • Session 3: Thursday, August 29, 6-7:30pm MST

  • Session 4 Thursday, September 12, 6-7:30pm MST

  • Session 5: Thursday, September 19, 6-7:30pm MST

  • Session 6: Thursday, October 3, 6-7:30pm MST

  • Session 7: Thursday, October 10, 6-7:30pm MST

Cost: $140